

STATE OF NEW MEXICO PUBLIC EDUCATION DEPARTMENT 300 DON GASPAR SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO 87501-2786 Telephone (505) 827-5800

www.ped.state.nm.us

Karen Trujillo, Ph.D. Secretary of Education

MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM GOVERNOR

May 2, 2019

MEMORANDUM

TO: Superintendents and Charter School Leaders

FROM: Gwen Perea Warniment, PhD, Deputy Secretary

RE: Teacher Evaluation System Transition Year

In order to comply with Executive Order Two addressing Teacher Evaluation, signed by Governor Lujan Grisham on January 3, 2019, the NMPED will release a Transition Teacher Evaluation Report for the 2018-2019 school year that will **not** include any student assessment data as part of the evaluation framework.

The transition report will consist of the following categories for a total of 100 points:

- Classroom Observations (Domains 2 and 3) worth 50%
- Planning, Preparation, and Professionalism (Domains 1 and 4) worth 40%
- Family or Student Surveys worth 10%

As we look to the future of teacher evaluation in New Mexico, the Educator Growth and Development Team will engage stakeholders across the state to ensure all voices are part of designing a new teacher evaluation system. NMPED's stakeholder engagement events will begin in late May and held throughout the state. Specific times and locations for these events will be communicated by May 15, 2019.

Educators who are currently pursuing their license through the NMTEACH pathway may continue to use the observation, planning and survey components of the report to complete the pathway, if they meet the criteria. Educators who choose to use their **2017-2018** student achievement data to advance levels in licensure will now have until June 1, 2019 to submit their application.

Please contact Seana Flanagan, Director of Educator Quality, at <u>seana.flanagan@state.nm.us</u> with any questions.

Transition Teacher Evaluation Report May 2, 2019 Page **2** of **2**

GPW/sf

Cc: Karen Trujillo, PhD, Cabinet Secretary Tim Hand, PhD, Deputy Secretary Adan Delgado, Deputy Secretary Kara Bobroff, Deputy Secretary Kata Sandoval, Deputy Secretary Daniel Manzano, Chief of Staff Seana Flanagan, Division Director, Educator Quality